27 Comments

Ahh, how great you took Kate’s class! Her apple pie is my favorite to make (and to eat!) Welcome back! will you be in Chicago at all? We can meet for coffee! My favorite snacks on plane are cookies, preferably shortbread with tea!

Expand full comment

It was great to have you in the apple pie class yesterday and I'm very happy that you liked both the class and your pie!

Expand full comment

Oh, I wish it was still Sunday, Kiki! Hope your flight went smoothl! I've been wanting to take one of Kate's classes but the timezone doesn't help :( I bet the end result was delicious!

My go to snack: toasted almonds

My naughty snack: something chocolatey!

Expand full comment

Once you're used to how soda tastes in Europe, trust me, except for apparently coke (which I don't drink) you'll not want to drink any of the US versions!

Also: snacks. For planes I always have a salted caramel almond kind bar (I also always have one in my bag and in the car door pocket to ward off being hangry!) and savoury rosemary almonds for healthy snacking.

For roadtrips we tend to pick up whatever candy we fancy in the first gas station, usually something with mixed fruits and nostalgic from childhood like Fruit Polos (https://thesweetboxshop.com/polo-fruits-37g-roll-1453-p.asp) and Wine Gums (https://thecandystoreonline.co.uk/products/soft-wine-gums: these have booze names on them but are non alcoholic and fruit flavoured!); J and I are the perfect pairing for this as I hate the lemon and lime ones (orange are okay but not a favourite) and he hates the red and purple ones!

Expand full comment

I try to eat healthy when I travel on planes, especially for long haul flight since I'm sitting for so long! I tend to lean on bags of nuts and fresh fruit if possible - maybe an apple to curve that sweet tooth. Alternatively a good bag of trail mix with plenty of chocolate covered nuts or espresso beans 😅 are my guilty pleasure. I unfortunately eat the entire bag before the plane has taken off and feel a bit bad afterwards!

Expand full comment

Welcome back! My go-to travel snacks are Twizzlers, pretzels, and soft chocolate chip cookies. That being said, my ex once made me a baggie full of freshly cooked bacon to take on a long flight and it was the best thing. Other passengers were quite jealous, haha.

Expand full comment

An adult beverage to calm the nerves. I hate flying.

Expand full comment

Now that you can make a pie, consider going smaller and making sweet or savory gallettes or crostata for something portable. From the book "Pie All the Time" by Taylor Harbin I just made some with kale, nuts and golden raisins.

Another possibility would be hand pies. I will soon be trying this recipe:

https://www.browneyedbaker.com/apple-hand-pies/

Helpful pie gadgets: Perfect-A-Crust Pie Crust Molds

Probably not being manufactured any more but look on EBay

(plastic circles for rolling out dough for 8", 9", and 10" pies)

Rollling pin measuring strips. Just bought a set from MoreCuisineEssentials.com (have not tried them yet!). The set has 1/4", 1/8" and 1/16" thicknesses.

Shop.kingarthurbaking.com is a great place for baking ingredients and supplies. Trained, experienced people will answer your baking questions if you need any help or ideas.

I often stop in at Starbucks for coffee and pastry, so then I started trying to come up with things I could make and that are portable!

At one time I would pack sliced salami and pita bread for a quick meal. There was no danger of leaking mess, and took up little space in my bag.

Expand full comment