13 Comments

Oh too many to count! But my friend Kathryn and I will never forget when I was developing recipes for my first book and she came over for dinner the horror that was an attempt at a s'mores bread and butter pudding! She even brought it up at dinner last weekend... it happened 7 years ago!!!

Expand full comment

Welcome back! Years ago, when my mom was a new wife and mother, she made pumpkin pie from scratch for the first time. She proudly served it at Thanksgiving and was horrified when everyone started making faces while eating it. Unfortunately, she'd used whole cloves instead of ground!

Expand full comment

Coffee looks delicious, I usually top mine with whipped cream instead of milk! When I was first learning to cook years ago I was frying something, I think it was just vegetables, but the pan became so hot and there wasn't enough oil and somehow I lit the entire pan on fire. I didn't realise but the entire kitchen was smokey, the fire alarm was ringing and I severely burned the pan. Needless to say we had to throw it out and that's how I learned that it's ok to add extra oil to a pan if you feel that it's right.

Expand full comment

Way back in bell bottom- granola days I tried to make tofu. I did not know how to cook anything, and probably was not used to following recipe directions.

I had a large pot of pulverized soybeans cooking in water on the stove. At some point this had to be strained. Logically I threw out the water and saved the pulp. A sickening feeling when I realized my mistake. It was supposed to be just the opposite!

Expand full comment
Nov 13, 2022Liked by Kiki

Yes! The coffee does look yummy! I remember that chicken story well. My Mom never fried chicken because my Dad wouldn’t eat it so really I didn’t know how to fry chicken! He grew up on a farm with 9 other siblings so every Sunday they would have chicken . So my Dad would have to kill them and he said they were the nastiest animal he ever seen! So that’s why Mom never fried chicken although when she went out to eat with someone she always had chicken lol

Expand full comment

Welcome back! I had a pumpkin pie fail in my last newsletter 🤣 I covered it with whipped cream which is ‘make-up, for pie 🥧’ 😉 that coffee looks so good!

Expand full comment